adjusting mic gain

For general questions or discussion of Auria.

Moderators: Corey W, Rim

markush2628

adjusting mic gain

Post by markush2628 » Fri Jan 11, 2013 5:47 pm

Hello,

(I hope I'm posting this in the right section of the forum. if not, love and forgive ;) )

First of all, I'd like to say I really like the auria app! I'm a beginner in recording. I started with garage band on my ipad, and after a while felt I outgrew that app and needed an upgrade. Auria came out just on time :)

I'm having an issue which might be really easy to solve for someone with experience. I'm using Samson's Meteor microphone, and I seem to be unable to adjust the gain (that is the correct term for sensitivity, right?) of the mic. It feeds sound in a really high volume.When I hold my finger down on the record button of the track, I get a "Microphone gain" dialogue window. However even if I turn the knob all the way down, nothing happens to the volume of the feed. Sure - I can adjust the volume of the track, but on the meter it still goes to red, and it starts clipping easily with my recorder flute. I've tried the process with my ipad's internal microphone, and then it works fine: if I turn the gain knob all the way down, I get no feedback, and as I slowly turn it up, the volume increases - just how I would like it to do with my external usb mic!

What might be the problem, and how do I solve it?

Thankful for any help!

Peace!

markush2628

Re: adjusting mic gain

Post by markush2628 » Fri Jan 11, 2013 5:50 pm

(correction: the dialogue window I called "microphone gain" is called "record level")

Rim
Site Admin

Post by Rim » Sat Jan 12, 2013 6:35 am

Are you using the latest version of Auria (1.05)? A problem similar to this was fixed a few versions back. You can check your version by going to the settings page (it's listed at the bottom).

Rim

markush2628

Post by markush2628 » Sat Jan 12, 2013 6:56 am

Yes, 1.0.5

Anthony Alves
Expert